Old Tyme Ginger Beer

The story: Arrrr, maties! ‘Tis a pirate’s life for me! A GINGER BEER-drinking pirate, that is! Finding a drink over lunch during the weekday is always a swashbuckling adventure, as I scale the heights of a food court with my trusty rapier, use my spyglass to figure out where the island of fancy schmancy soft drinks reside, and fight through the suits of the establishment (and cranky food staff) to get to my buried fizzy drink treasure. Today I slashed and cornered my way to the Hasty Market on the corner of Metcalfe and Nepean to pick up this delectable delight of a brew… harrrrr!

The look: Pure liquid gold! That lovely liquid colour does not need to be hidden behind opaque glass, and the smart small round bottle (that looks like you could put a tiny model ship in it) is elegant and classic in its finery. A twist off gold cap screams to the pirate’s soul in me as well! Of course, it helps that I see a picture of my brethren on the label, and the siren song of “jamaican style” and “naturally flavoured” calls out to me and makes me want to dash myself on the rocks of pure fizzy bliss. Just for good measure, there are tiny words at the bottom that say “non-alcoholic”… in case I get the wrong idea about what ginger beer really is. As if! Now if it was rum…

The TASTE: Ahhh, this drink has BITE! And lots of it! The ginger is so strong that it lingers and prickles in my mouth after taking a sip. The fizz also feels very robust (either that, or it gives me the illusion of being very strong because of the lingering effects of the ginger flavour). Sugar-wise, I find it  just right; though it is a sweet drink, it does not take away from the overall flavour. Wowza, this drink packs quite a punch!

Overall fancy schmancy verdict: Yo ho ho, and a bottle of… Old Tyme to go! This is how I expect ginger beer to be like — wild and fiercely tasty!

The price: CAD$1.19 plus tax at the Hasty Market. Solid gold pricing! What more can we ask for? Sail away, sail away, sail away…

~ by Chris K on September 26, 2011.

6 Responses to “Old Tyme Ginger Beer”

  1. Hello, Neat post. There’s an issue with your website in web explorer, might test this… IE still is the marketplace leader and a good component to people will pass over your fantastic writing due to this problem.

    • Thanks for the feedback! I’ll take a look but I’m not sure what the issue is as the blog looks the same on IE and Firefox to me. Perhaps it’s just the wordpress layout?

  2. Epic post, Mountain Dew is the ultimate soft drink.

    • I’ve not had a mountain dew in a while! I used to love it as a kid, but I remember it being very sweet. Not sure if I could handle it today! :)

  3. I truly enjoyed reading this website, this is fantastic blog.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

